Auburn Graduate and Western Kentucky University Professor Jenks Britt Receives Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award

Date: 10/12/2011 9:00 am

DE SOTO, Kan., Sept. 30, 2011 – In recognition of his commitment to the animal-health industry and for inspiring students and others in veterinary medicine, Jenks Britt, D.V.M., D.A.B.V.P., Western Kentucky University Department of Agriculture professor, received the Mentor of the Year Award from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) and Merck Animal Health.

The Mentor of the Year Award honors individuals who have dedicated their careers to educating, mentoring and advancing the careers of students in the field of bovine veterinary medicine. Britt was honored with a commemorative plaque during the AABP annual meeting Sept. 22-24 in St. Louis. He also will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to next year’s AABP conference in Montreal.

“A good mentor is critical for today’s veterinary students,” said Britt. “A large majority of them have not grown up on a farm and need someone to teach them the things that farm kids take for granted – like the difference between a tractor and a four wheeler.”

Dr. Britt is a professor and past head of the Department of Agriculture at Western Kentucky University. He has co-authored 224 publications, given more than 200 presentations and is a well-respected, international dairy consultant. Prior to joining Western Kentucky University in 1998, Dr. Britt was a clinical assistant professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Pamela Ruegg, D.V.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison professor of dairy science, presented the award to Dr. Britt. She was an extern in his private practice and still looks to him as a mentor.

“Peers and students look up to Dr. Britt because he is the epitome of professionalism,” said Ruegg. “He has set a great example for students and young veterinarians. His unselfish approach to sharing his expertise has influenced his students, as well as the entire dairy industry.”

Raised on a dairy farm near Bowling Green, Ky., Britt received a Bachelor of Science degree from Western Kentucky University with a double major in agriculture and biology. He received his doctor of veterinary medicine from the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine in 1970 and was partner and owner of Logan County Animal Clinic in Russellville, Ky., for 23 years.

Dr. Britt said working with students has played a key role in his success in living with Parkinson’s disease, which he has fought for almost 20 years. After he retired, Dr. Britt’s students asked him to come back and teach.

“Beyond his professional success in embryo transfer, dairy production medicine, reproductive management and milk quality, Dr. Britt has shaped the industry through his mentorship of hundreds of veterinary and animal science students,” said Ruegg.  “However, if you asked him, he would say his greatest accomplishment is the success of the sons that he and his wife, Kathy, raised.”

Britt received the National Outstanding Teacher in Agriculture from the Collegiate FFA Organization, and the 2009 Wilford S. Bailey Distinguished Alumni and the 2005 El Toro Food Animal Medicine Awards Auburn’s College of Veterinary Medicine. He also was recognized as the AABP Practitioner of the Year, Western Kentucky University Alumni of the Year, and the Kentucky Veterinary Medical Association Veterinarian of the Year.

Dr. Britt’s involvement outside of academia includes membership and leadership positions in AABP, the American Dairy Science Association, the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), the American Board of Veterinary Practitioners, the National Mastitis Council and the Kentucky Veterinary Medical Association. He also was a member and chairman of the AVMA Council on Education.

“Sometimes we don’t even know that we are mentoring,” said Dr. Britt. “Spending time with young people and watching them grow in their practices and careers – that’s really what it’s all about.”

Dr. Britt is the fifth recipient of the Mentor of the Year Award, which was instituted in 2007.

© 2009 Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine