Dr. Ernest C. Godfrey Jr. is named a 2010 Distinguished Alum

Date: 5/24/2010 3:25 pm

AUBURN, Ala. – The Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine has named three of its graduates as 2010 Wilford S. Bailey Distinguished Alumni in honor of their contributions to animal welfare, the profession, and their communities.

Ernest C. Godfrey Jr., D.V.M., of Largo, Fla., is named a recipient along with J. Russell Lindsey, D.V.M., of Birmingham, Ala., and Gary B. Beard of Auburn, Ala.

Dr. Godfrey received his doctorate of veterinary medicine from Auburn in 1968. The Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) awarded Dr. Godfrey, co-director of St. Petersburg Animal Emergency Clinic, and owner of Pinellas Animal Hospital and Seminole Boulevard Animal Hospital, its top honor – the Distinguished Service Award – in 2001. In 1990 the Florida VMA named Dr. Godfrey Veterinarian of the Year; in 2008, a Champion of Veterinary Medicine; and in 2010 presented him the FVMA President’s Award.

“Dr. Godfrey exhibits dedicated and unselfish service to the veterinary profession,” said Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine Dean Tim Boosinger. “His involvement occurs at the local, state, and national levels.”

He is a current Florida VMA delegate to the American Veterinary Medical Association, a member of the FVMA Executive Board, the FVMA CVM Advisory Committee, the FVMA Legislative Committee, and he serves as FVMA Program Chair.

Since 1976 Dr. Godfrey has served on the board of directors for the Central Florida Academy of Veterinary Medicine and since 1983, the Pinellas Animal Foundation. Since 1997 he has actively participated in Pinellas Animal Partners, a group of animal welfare organizations that work to help animals in Pinellas County.

He has been involved with the American Veterinary Medical Association’s Congressional Advocacy Network since 1992 and is a current member of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) State Advocacy Committee. Dr. Godfrey is a supporter of the veterinary technology program at St. Petersburg College in Pinellas and for many years, served on the AVMA’s Veterinary Technician Testing Committee.

The distinguished alumni award is named in honor of Dr. Wilford S. Bailey, a veterinary parasitologist, who held a 50-year continuous faculty appointment at Auburn University after receiving his veterinary degree in 1942, serving in positions from instructor to university president.

© 2009 Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine