Recent News > Students in the News > Auburn Student Chapter of The Society for Theriogenology Voted Nation’s Best

Theriogenology Students Recognized at National Meeting

September 13, 2013

Last Updated 1 Year(s) ago

By Janet L. McCoy, (e), (p) 334-844-3698

Auburn, Alabama —

The Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine student chapter of the Society for Theriogenology was awarded the first ever Student Chapter of the Year (SCOTY) award at the 2013 national conference in Louisville, and was recognized for the group’s year-long activities provided to their members and its active student participation.

This award, the first given by the national association, was sponsored by Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital, and a $1,000 prize was awarded to the chapter, which will be used to provide a diverse range of activities for student members this coming year.

“I am so proud of all the students.  They represented Auburn professionally and enthusiastically” says Dr. Aime Johnson, faculty advisor for the student SFT chapter. “They worked very hard all year planning meetings and wetlabs, and competing at the national conference. This award was well deserved and I know they plan on working just as hard next year.”

The chapter was recognized as the one which most exemplified the SFT's mission “to promote standards of excellence in reproductive medicine, to provide outreach and education to veterinarians, and to foster continual improvements in theriogenology.” Other criteria included student participation in club activities throughout the year as well as at the national conference, student abstracts accepted for presentation or poster, T-shirt design competition, and participation and placement in the Merck Therio Quiz Bowl, also held at the Louisville conference.

In addition to the SCOTY award, Auburn veterinary students won first place in the student Quiz Bowl competition, three students placed in the top six of student Case Presenters; the chapter took home second place in the T-shirt design competition.

“Competition for the award was fierce”, said Drew Hestad, a second year student from Lexington, Ky., who serves as president of the Auburn chapter. “Students’ presence and performance at the national SFT conference as well as the quality of educational activities provided by each university’s club to its student members during the school year were all factors that went into deciding who was the best.”

Hestad said the Auburn students “were exposed to activities that were both numerous and diverse. Multiple lectures and wet labs were provided throughout the school year, featuring a variety of speakers, which concentrated on topics ranging from small animal reproduction to breeding-induced endometritis in the mare.”

The three students who presented cases with published abstracts were: Amanda Durand, who took 4th place, (Seminal vesiculitis in a gelding); Deanna Cotton, awarded 5th place (Transitional cell carcinoma of the vagina in a dog); and Anna Daniel-Reddish, who garnered 6th place (Recurrent seminal vesiculitis in a stallion).

The Quiz Bowl team consisted of fourth-year student Hannah Thomas, Hestad and second-year student Emily Mysinger.

The Society for Theriogenology is an organization of veterinarians dedicated to animal reproduction, whose mission is to promote standards of excellence in reproductive medicine, to provide outreach and education to veterinarians, and to foster continual improvements in theriogenology.

© 2009 Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine