April 2018

Apr 11th, 2018

QSDA Presidential Rank Award

photo of Dr. Cyril Gay

College of Veterinary Medicine Alumnus Dr. Cyril Gerard Gay ’85 was one of three recipients to receive the 2017 U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Presidential Rank Award. Dr. Gay presently serves as senior national program leader of Agricultural Research Service (ARS) Animal Health. With a career spanning more than 30 years in private and public […]

March 2018

Mar 28th, 2018

Dr. Gregory Daniel ’83

Dr. Gregory Daniel ’83 was named interim dean of the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine. A member of the Virginia Tech faculty since 2007, Daniel is a professor of radiology in the Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences and holds a joint appointment of professor in the Department of Basic Science Education at the Virginia Tech Carilion […]

February 2018

Feb 21st, 2018

Dr. Lydia Staggs ’04

Dr. Lydia Staggs, a 2004 alumna of the College of Veterinary Medicine, recently landed her dream job at SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment, joining the team of veterinarians caring for the animals at SeaWorld, Aquatica and Discovery Cove in Orlando. A 2004 graduate, she brings more than 14 years of veterinary experience to SeaWorld, having previously worked […]

November 2017

Nov 29th, 2017

Dr. Rodrigo Gallardo ’11

During the American Association of Avian Pathologists Inc. meeting in July as part of AVMA, Dr. Rodrigo Gallardo ’11 received the Bayer-Snoeyenbos New Investigator Award for his research contributions to the field of avian medicine. Dr. Gallardo earned his veterinary degree from the University of Chile in 2004 and his doctorate in poultry molecular virology […]

Nov 29th, 2017

Dr. Carolyn Henry ’90

Dr. Carolyn Henry ’90 was recently officially named dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Missouri, a positon she held on an interim basis. An oncology researcher, Dr. Henry earned the DVM in 1990 from Auburn, and practiced small animal and emergency medicine in Alabama and Georgia before returning to Auburn […]

Nov 29th, 2017

Dr. David Biller ’80

Dr. David Biller ’80 was named recipient of the 2017 Award of Excellence in Resident Mentoring for the Department of Clinical Sciences in the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine. Dr. Biller, a Kansas State professor and section head of radiology, is a 1980 graduate of Auburn’s College of Veterinary Medicine. “The Department of […]

September 2017

Sep 25th, 2017

Dr. Robert Gukich ’76

photo of Dr. Robert Gukich

The American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) at its annual convention in Omaha, Nebraska presented Dr. Robert Gukich the Boehringer Ingelheim Excellence in Preventive Medicine-Beef award on Saturday, September 16, 2017, in recognition of his outstanding performance and contribution to veterinary medicine. As part of the award, BI will also donate $1,500 toward student scholarships […]

July 2017

Jul 26th, 2017

Dr. Delbert J. (DJ) Krahwinkel ‘66

Dr. Delbert J. (DJ) Krahwinkel ‘66, a University of Tennessee professo in the College of Veterinary Medicine, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Tennessee Veterinary Medical Association. During his more than 50-year career, Dr. Krahwinkel has published dozens of studies and papers and taught more than 2,000 students. Though retired from teaching, Dr. […]

March 2017

Mar 20th, 2017

Dr. Richard Hopper ’78

Congratulations to Dr. Richard Hopper ‘78, second from the left, who was selected as the 2017 Veterinarian of the Year by the Missis­sippi Veterinary Medical Association. Pictured with Dr. Hopper are Dr. Nate Moseley, MVMA president, Donna Hopper, and Molly Hopper.

Mar 20th, 2017

Dr. Brad Fields ’05

Dr. Bradley Fields ‘05 has been named interim executive director of the Alabama Veterinary Medical Association for a six-month period beginning March 27 by the ALVMA executive board. The executive board and search committee wanted a period of management continuity to develop a refined request for proposals and allow time for a national search to […]