Veterinary Students Receive Recognition at Life of the College Awards

Fourteen veterinary students in Auburn University’s College of Veterinary Medicine were recently recognized for their achievements at the 2015 Life of the College Awards.

The awards recognize students based on scholarly work, research accomplishments, business aptitude, promotion of the human-animal bond and altruistic service to the college, faculty and fellow students.

“We are pleased to have an awards ceremony early in the fall semester that reminds each of us of the attributes that we value and celebrate as a college,” said Dr. Dan Givens, the associate dean for academic affairs at the college. “Thus, it is a true pleasure to recognize students who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance, research, business aptitude, promotion of the human-animal bond, and altruistic service to the others.

“We have many students who are deserving of notable recognition in these diverse areas. Being a part of the educational experience of our students who represent the current and future leadership of our broad and distinguished profession is a great privilege.”

The awards ceremony was held as part of the weekly Clinicopathologic Conference presentations, during which several senior-level students give presentations on unique cases they have treated during their clinical rotations.

Students receiving awards were:

T.J. Langlois, a first-year student, from Leeds, Ala., was awarded the Francesca B. Gaither Scholarship, in recognition of her accomplishments prior to admission to the college. The award is named for the late Francesca B. Gaither, a member of the class of 1987.

Twin sisters Lauren Norberg and Lindsey Norberg, second-year students from Ithaca, N.Y., were awarded the T.C. Fitzgerald Memorial Award, in recognition for their outstanding ability and almost identical academic performance in anatomy. The award is named for Dr. T.C. Fitzgerald, head of the Department of Anatomy and Histology, now the Department of Anatomy, Physiology and Pharmacology, from 1948 to 1968.

Sara Vigue, a second-year student from Merrit Island, Fla., received two awards, the LaVerne Krista Histology Award for demonstrated ability in histology and the I.S. McAdory Memorial Award, which is given to a sophomore student who was selected as the outstanding freshman student at the college. Dr. LaVerne Krista spent his entire veterinary career as a faculty member at Auburn. He joined in 1969, was appointed the head of the Department of Anatomy and Histology in 1988, and retired in 1998. Dr. I.S. McAdory served as the second dean of the college from 1935 to 1940.

Ally Emmert, a fourth-year student from Tompkinsville, Ky., was awarded the Student Research Award for her demonstrated ability for research. The award is sponsored by Dr. Charles H. Courtney, a 1977 graduate of the college, who previously served as the associate dean for research and graduate studies at the University of Florida’s College of Veterinary Medicine.

Annie Maguire, a third-year student from Lexington, Ky., was presented the Scott-Ritchey Research Award for her accomplishments during a research fellowship. The Scott-Ritchey Research Center was initially established by Mr. K.A. Scott in appreciation for services provided by the Small Animal Teaching Hospital.  Miss Eleanor Ritchey bequeathed the bulk of her estate to provide support to this research center.

Ashley Sharpe, a third-year student from Huntsville, Ala., was presented the Edwin R. Goode, Jr. Memorial Award, for her contributions to large animal research. The award is named for Dr. Goode, who was known for his work in bovine brucellosis.

Kaitlyn Caraway, a third-year student from Davisville, Fla., was presented the Simmons Business Aptitude Award. The Simmons & Associates Educational Trust Fund established a scholarship in 2003 to recognize a veterinary student from the college who has demonstrated an ability and interest in the business aspects of veterinary practice.

Lisa Neufang, a third-year student from Temcula, Calif., was presented the Pat Teer Award for her positive, significant interest and participation in the training and use of animals in the promotion of the human-animal bond. The award is named for Dr. Teer, who taught Clinical Pathology at the college for more than 30 years. She was also involved in the training and showing of pure bred dogs.

Christine Garrett, a third-year student from Albertville, Ala., was presented the East Alabama VMA Student Leadership Award for her excellent leadership skills and ethic.

Grady Cofield, a third-year student from Cadiz, Ky., was presented the R.S. Sugg Memorial, given to the outstanding sophomore student at the college. The award is named for Dr. R.S. Sugg, who received his DVM from Auburn University, served in WWII, and was the Alabama State Veterinarian. Dr. Sugg was instrumental in the development of the Southern Regional Education Board.

Tommy Poole, a fourth-year student from Auburn, Ala., received the James E. Greene Memorial award for his unselfish, altruistic service to the college, faculty, and fellow students as determined by nominations and selection by faculty and students. The award is named for Dr. James E. Greene, who was the fourth dean of the college from 1958 to 1977.

Trisha Beadlescomb, a second-year student from Cullman, Ala., received the Joseph Spano Memorial Humanitarian Service Award for her humanitarian spirit and willingness to give to others. The award is named for Dr. Joseph Spano, who served for 29 years at the college, teaching more than 2,500 veterinary students in clinical pathology and, more importantly, how to be a friend and mentor.