Students Recognized at Life of the College Awards

Ten Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine students were recognized for their achievements at the 2018 Life of the College Awards.

The awards recognize students’ scholarly work, research accomplishments, business aptitude, promotion of the human-animal bond, and their altruistic service to the college, faculty and fellow students.

“All of you are exceptional students and represent yourselves and our college proudly,” Dean Calvin Johnson said.

“This is a great day in the life of the college because it is a day to celebrate your accomplishments and your outstanding success,” said Dr. Dan Givens, the associate dean for Academic Affairs. “By being a student here, you’ve shown how outstanding you are and we celebrate and recognize all of you.”

The awards ceremony was held as part of the weekly Clinicopathology Conference presentations, during which senior-level students give presentations on unique cases they have treated during their clinical rotations.

Students receiving awards were:

Drew Davis, a fourth-year student from Headland, Ala., received the James E. Greene Memorial award for his unselfish, altruistic service to the college, faculty, and fellow students as determined by nominations and selection by faculty and students. The award is named for Dr. James E. Greene, who was the fourth dean of the college from 1958 to 1977.

“Drew is a quiet leader with strong principles,” said Dean Calvin Johnson, who made the presentation. “He is always attentive to issues of students and approaches every single person he engages with professionalism. One of the joys of being associated with the college is know how proud [Dr. Greene] would be with the person selected to receive the award named for him.”

 Jonathan Tubbs, a third-year student from Oakman, Ala., was awarded the R.S. Sugg Memorial Award, presented to the third-year student who was selected as the outstanding second-year student at the college. The award is named for Dr. R.S. Sugg, who received his DVM from Auburn University, served in WWII, and was the Alabama State Veterinarian. Dr. Sugg was instrumental in the development of the Southern Regional Education Board.

Tubbs “shows a lot of the qualities Dr. Sugg demonstrated throughout his veterinary career in his commitment to education,” Dr. Edward Morrison said. “Jonathan has excelled in the classroom, in his research, presenting at national and international science conference, in volunteering with local and national clubs, and in his commitment to One Health.”

 Jacquie Cobb, fourth-year student from Roshelle, Ill., was presented the Dr. Pat Teer Award for her positive, significant interest and participation in the training and use of animals in the promotion of the human-animal bond. The award is named for Dr. Teer, who taught Clinical Pathology at the college for more than 30 years. She was also involved in the training and showing of pure bred dogs.

Cobb was selected for her leadership qualities while attending the college, as she is president of multiple clubs. She founded and president of a Chicago-area rescue shelter which has been responsible for rehoming more than 3,500 animals.

 Brandon Weyhing, a third-year student from Louisville, Ky., was selected to receive the Dr. Joseph Spano Memorial Humanitarian Service Award. Named in honor of Colorado native, the Spano award recognizes a current student who is known for their humanitarian spirit. Dr. Spano, who taught more than 2,500 veterinary students clinical pathology during his 29-year career, served as a role model on how to be a friend and mentor.

“Brandon is a true servant leader, in his authentic concern for his classmates and colleagues, and for the college,” said Dr. Brandi Brunson in making the award announcement.

Chase Turner, a first-year student from West Liberty, Ky., was awarded the Francesca B. Gaither Scholarship, in recognition of his accomplishments prior to admission to the college. The award is named for the late Francesca B. Gaither, a member of the class of 1987.

Turner was selected for the award because he lives “the ideas of Francesca, who was a classmate of mine,” said Dr. Joe Rowe ’87. Turner is “an exemplary student, compassionate, dependable and will be an asset to the college,” one person wrote in his applications recommendation letter.

Katelyn Buren, second-year student from Prospect, Ky., was awarded the Dr. T.C. Fitzgerald Memorial Award, in recognition for a second-year student’s outstanding ability and academic performance in anatomy during their first year. The award is named for Dr. T.C. Fitzgerald, head of the Department of Anatomy and Histology, now the Department of Anatomy, Physiology and Pharmacology (APP), from 1948 to 1968. Anatomy faculty member Dr. Benson Akingbemi, who presented the award on behalf of anatomy faculty, said of Buren: “I often give impromptu quizzes to groups of student, some like it, some are terrified. “She did well among her peers and was a joy to teach.”

Lauren Keyser, a second-year student from Strongsville, Ohio, received the Dr. I.S. McAdory Memorial Award, which is given to a second-year student who was selected as the outstanding first-year student at the college. Dr. McAdory served as the second dean of the college from 1935 to 1940.

“She was very aggressive in doing the work needed to be successful in demanding first-year classes and was not afraid to ask questions, sometimes emailing me before I got back to my office from class,” said Dr. Mahmoud Mansour, who announced the award.

Nolan Craig, a second-year student from Dothan, Ala, was awarded the Dr. LaVerne Krista Histology Award for outstanding ability demonstrated in histology. The award is named for Dr. Krista, who spent his entire veterinary career as a faculty member at Auburn. He joined the college in 1969, was appointed the head of the Department of Anatomy and Histology in 1988, and retired in 1998.

Craig demonstrated “academic proficiency, a receptiveness in the classroom and laboratory, and is a stand-out student,” Dr. Chad Foradori, a professor of histology, said in making the award.

Brooke Alnwick a third-year student from Groton, Mass., was presented the Edwin R. Goode, Jr. Memorial Award, for her contributions to large animal research. The award is named for Dr. Goode, who was known for his work in bovine brucellosis.

“When she first entered the laboratory, she was terrified, but that quickly changed and she has become engrossed in in large animal research,” said Dr. Lindsey Boone. “Brooke demonstrates amazing work ethic, strong research skills and dedication.”

 Kelly Watson, a third-year student from Oxford, Ala., was presented the Simmons Business Aptitude Award. The Simmons & Associates Educational Trust Fund established a scholarship in 2003 to recognize a veterinary student from the college who has demonstrated an ability and interest in the business aspects of veterinary practice.

“This recipient has shown a passion for business aptitude in the veterinary industry, which is a valuable asset in our profession,” said Dr. Robyn Wilborn.