Employees Honored during 8th Annual Staff Awards Ceremony

College of Veterinary Medicine staff and administrative employees were recently recognized for their dedicated work and support of the college.

Dean Calvin Johnson thanked employees for pursing excellence and noted that employees set the culture and tone of the team. He recognized all CVM employees who play a vital role in the strategic plan of the College, noting that all employees are important to the mission of the college.

Recognizing that administrative and employees are vital to the college’s success in educating students, animal health care and research initiatives,the College of Veterinary Medicine established an employee committee to recognize and honor employees who consistently and consciously go beyond their normal work activities in support of the college. Winners are nominated and selected by CVM employees.

 Staff Recognition Awards
The Staff Recognition Awards were given to:

  • Priscilla Barger, a research associate in the Department of Pathobiology

    Recognized were: Pricilla Barger, top left; Anna Johnson, top right; Trisha Kendall, bottom left; and Simon Taylor, bottom right.
  • Anna Johnson, a research assistant in Scott-Ritchey
  • Trisha Kendall, a veterinary technician in Bailey Small Animal Teaching Hospital
  • Simon Taylor, a veterinary support staff member for the college’s Dairy Service

 Dean’s Award
The 2016 Dean’s Award was given to Willie Williams with the custodial services program. The Dean’s Award is given to a non-CVM employee who performs outstanding duties for the college.

Regina Rodriguez Williams Award
Veterinary assistant Samantha Thrower received the Williams Award.

The Deborah Hatch Czerkawski Award
Hayley Pritchard, a licensed veterinary technician, in the General Surgery Service, received the Czerkawski Award.

The program also recognized employee’s longevity service.

Staff Recognition Committee members are HuiChu Lin, chair; Shelly Aono; Derrick Calloway; Merrilee Holland; Cassandra Kitchens; Nancy Wagner; and Judy Woodrow.

Willie Williams
Willie Williams received the Dean’s Award.


Samantha Thrower
Samantha Thrower received the Deborah Hatch Czerkawski Award
Haley Pritchard
Hayley Pritchard received the Regina Rodriguez Williams Award