Employees Recognized during 9th Annual Staff Awards

College of Veterinary Medicine staff and administrative employees were recently recognized for their dedicated work and support of the college.

Recognizing that administrative and employees are vital to the college’s success in educating students, animal health care and research initiatives, the college established an employee committee to recognize and honor employees who consistently and consciously go beyond their normal work activities in support of the college. Winners are nominated and selected by CVM employees.

Staff Recognition Awards
The Staff Recognition Awards were awarded to: David Thornton, Javena Cole, Mechelle Golden, and Cynthia Hutchinson. These employees were recognized for their consistent demonstration of outstanding performance, positive attitude, ability to work well with others and positive rapport.

Dean’s Award
The 2017 Dean’s Award was given to an employee not employed by the College of Veterinary Medicine who performs outstanding duties for the college. This year, two Auburn employees were recognized:

  • Nathaniel “Mr. Nate” Jones with GCA Services Group.
  • Craig Arwood with the Mechanical Shop of the Facilities Division.

Regina Rodriguez Williams Award
Natalie Royer, a veterinary technician in the Oncology Service of Bailey Small Animal Teaching Hospital, received the Williams Award in recognition of her exceptional commitment to the moral and physical development of youth, mentoring of students and colleagues and willingness to go beyond the call of duty.

The Deborah Hatch Czerkawski Award
Amy Hall, a medical technologist in Pathobiology, received the Czerkawski Award in recognition for her excellence in leadership, mentor and interpersonal communications and her willingness to give above and beyond that required of her position.

The college also recognized employees for their service to the college and university.

Five Years
William C. Baker, Tammy Bauer, Cedric Gaffney, Amanda Gross, Jennifer Pannell, Julie Price and Simon Taylor.

Ten Years
Clara Baker, Crisanta Cruz-Espindola, Stephen Gulley, Liz Hodson, Kevin King, Cassandra Kitchens, Kelli Matisak, Stephanie Mitchell, Sharon Price, Melissa Streicher, Samantha Thrower and Amy Wiley.

Fifteen Years
Ashley Burt, Michael Colley, Karen Galik, Helen Gill, Natalia Petrenko, Lynn Stephens, David Thornton and Kelley Turner.

Twenty Years
Pamela Chambers, Cynthia Maria Hutchinson and Joel Smith.

Thirty Years
George Fincher, Misako Hwang and Janet McCoy.

Thirty-Five Years
Patricia Galik

Staff Recognition Committee include Dr. HuiChu Lin, chair; Kodye Abbott; Shelly Aono; Dr. Merrilee Holland; Cassandra Kitchens; Dr. Joe Newton; Amelia Pendleton; Kristina Photakis; Nancy Wagner; and Judy Woodrow.