Oklahoma veterinarian and Auburn alumnus receives El Toro Award

Dean Calvin Johnson, left, Dr. Calvin White, recipient of the El Toro Award, and Dr. Dwight Wolfe.
Dean Calvin Johnson, left, Dr. Calvin White, recipient of the El Toro Award, and Dr. Dwight Wolfe.

Dr. Calvin White of Ada, Oklahoma, a ’77 Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine graduate, has received the El Toro Award for Excellence in Food Animal Medicine for his dedicated work in the food animal practice.

White was presented the award during the college’s 111th Annual Conference Oct. 19.

Following graduation from Auburn, White became an associate in a three-veterinarian mixed animal practice in Coalgate, Oklahoma, a practice that was approximately 70 percent beef cattle service, including commercial cow-calf, purebred cattle ranches, and stocker cattle. In 1981, he bought half interest in Ada Veterinary Clinic in Ada, and assumed full ownership in 2007.

His mixed practice employs four full-time and one part-time veterinarians, and serves a broad area around Ada and includes services for commercial and purebred beef herds, extensive stocker calf operations, a large sale barn and dairy producers. The practice also serves sheep, goat and swine producers, along with pleasure and competitive horse operations.

“I want to thank the Auburn food animal veterinary faculty for nominating me for this award, and I want to thank Dr. [J.T.] Vaughan [dean emeritus] for raising the bar high for Auburn veterinary students,” White said.

White is a member of the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association, American Veterinary Medical Association, American Animal Hospital Association, the Society for Theriogenology, American Association of Bovine Practitioners, American Association of Equine Practitioners, Oklahoma Quarter Horse Association and American Quarter Horse Association. He served on the program committee for the Western States Veterinary Conference, and he has served as a mentor for the Auburn Preceptorship Program for 36 years, through which numerous students under his tutelage have gone on to productive practice careers.

Additionally, White served on the Coalgate, Oklahoma school board, was president of the Pontotoc County Cattlemen’s Association, and the Pontotoc County Extension Advisory Committee. He was president of the Oklahoma Quarter Association, served on the national board of directors and the Public Policy Committee of the American Quarter Horse Association.

He served as president of the Oklahoma Veterinary Medical Association and is currently chair of the organization’s Legislative Committee. White served on the Guidance Committee for the Murray State College Veterinary Technician Program and as mentor for Veterinary Technician Students from Tishimingo, Oklahoma. He was recognized as Oklahoma Veterinarian of the Year in 2012 and named Distinguished Alumnus for the Auburn College of Veterinary Medicine in 2013.

The El Toro Award for Excellence in Food Animal Medicine was established in 1994 and has been awarded annually through the generosity of Dr. James G. Floyd Jr. in memory of his father, J.G. Floyd.

The award recognizes a veterinarian, who through his or her contributions to food animal practice, organized veterinary medicine, high ideals and dedication to the production of food animals, serves as a role model for veterinary students. A major focus of the award is to provide opportunity for interaction between veterinary students and the recipient to increase veterinary students’ interest in food animal medicine.